top of page


2021 GACTE Awards 

These awards recognize excellence and dedication within the field of career and technical education among our association members. We seek to commemorate exceptional individuals who have contributed to the success of CTE through the quality of their work and their involvement in the CTE community.

The GACTE Awards Committee was chaired by Dustin Davis and other committee members were Cheryl Deas, Susan Hall and Alfreda Lewis.

2021 Nominees


Cynthia Clanton, GCCTA, Carroll County Schools

Tim Schmitt, GA e-TED, Newton County Schools

Linsey Shockley, GATFACS, Newton College & Career Academy

Tiffany Barney, HSTEA, Cobb Innovation & Technology Academy

Sandra Martin, TIEGA, Georgia Department of Education

Sabrina Phelps, WBL/YAP, Houston County College & Career Academy


M. Ann Levett, GCCTA, Savannah-Chatham County Public Schools

Sydney Conley, GVATA, Crawford County High School

Kimberly Garren, GA e-TED, Winder-Barrow High School

Jennifer Wood, GATFACS, Buford High School

Sapph Espinoza, HSTEA, Cobb County Schools

Angela Rucker, GACESNP, Booker T. Washington High School

Cristi Holbrook, TIEGA, Kennesaw Mountain High School

Lynne Warren, WBL/YAP, Banks County High School


Angela Sparks, GCCTA, Marietta City Schools

Sean Myers, CCD, Pine Ridge Elementary School

Roderick Fludd, GACESNP, Creekside High School

Melissa Rodgers, WBL/YAP, Thomas County Central High School


Scott McSpadden, GCCTA, Ringgold High School

Tracy Waters, GBEA, Tattnall County High School

Wendy Murphy, CCD, Colquitt County High School

Brandon Myers, GA e-TED, Maxwell High School of Technology

Melissa Johnson, GATFACS, John W. Hubert Middle School

Denisia Pope, HSTEA, Liberty College and Career Academy

Antoinette Godfrey, GMEA, Chapel Hill High School

John Daniels, GACESNP, Westlake High School

Seth Bierman, WBL/YAP, Harris County High School


Cora Walden, TIEGA, Southern Regional Technical College


Marcia Morris, GCCTA, Carroll County Schools & Career Academy

Pintu Thaker, GBEA, Meadowcreek High School

Misty Moon, CCD, Colquitt County High School

John "Bubba" Gibbs, GA e-TED, Fannin County High School

Camille Whalen, GATFACS, Commerce High School

Alicia McCracken, HSTEA, Rabun County High School

Lauren O'Conner, GMEA, Paul Duke STEM High School

Paige Welch, GACESNP, WS Hutchings College & Career Academy

Benjamin Lowe, TIEGA, Jackson High School

Suzanne Haynes, WBL/YAP, West Hall High School



Teacher of the Year

Alicia McCracken

Rabun County High School


New Teacher of the Year

Tracy Waters

Tattnall County High School


Dr. James Woodard
Alvin J. Wilbanks Lifetime Achievement Award

Dr. James Woodard was presented with the Alvin J. Wilbanks Lifetime Achievement Award. Dr. Woodard started his career as an agriculture teacher in Hazlehurst, GA where he taught 9 years. After that, Dr. Woodard had pivotal roles within the GADOE for 12 years including area horticulture teacher, regional coordinator, and Director of Agricultural Education. In 2005, Dr. Woodard was promoted to the Director of Career, Technical, and Agricultural Education for the GADOE. Dr. Woodard was a transformational leader for Georgia CTAE and was an integral part of the revitalization of GACTE.

After leaving the GADOE, Dr. Woodard became the Director of Career, Technical and Agricultural Education for 6 years in Newton County and then CEO/Principal of the Newton College and Career Academy. With a substantial resume in state and local administration, Dr. Woodard was tapped to be the Superintendent of Morgan County Charter School System for 6 years.

Dr. Woodard retired after serving as Superintendent. But that did not stop his love for CTAE. He currently serves as the Chairman of the National FFA Board and as the Facility Planning Manager for the Parrish Construction Group in Alpharetta, GA.

Dr. Woodard has served as a CTAE teacher, director, college and career academy CEO, Director of CTAE for the State of Georgia and as Superintendent. He has had more CTAE roles then most of us will have in a lifetime. We appreciate all that he has done to advocate, lead, support, and mentor us.


Career & Counseling Development

Angela Sparks

Marietta City Schools


Administrator of the Year

Cynthia Clanton

Carroll County Schools


Carl Perkins Community Service

M. Ann Levett

Savannah-Chatham County Public Schools


Post-Secondary Teacher of the Year

Cora Walden

Southern Regional Technical College


Chuck Little
Friend of GACTE Award

Chuck Little is truly a friend of GACTE. Chuck had a substantial career in community service, philanthropy, and human resources. For the last 21 years, Chuck has served as the Human Resources Director for the Atlanta Electrical Contractors Association. In this role, Chuck began working with local school districts on providing career and employability opportunities for teachers and students. Each year, Chuck was judging competitions and working with work-based learning coordinators and CTAE directors to create opportunities for students to receive funding and scholarships with Atlanta Electrical Contractors Association.

Over the past few years, Chuck had an enormous presence at our summer conference. He created an Employability Skills Contest for our counselors, directors, work-based learning coordinators, and CTAE directors that included a cash prize. This contest has allowed our members to demonstrate and share best practices for employability skills and career development.

This Spring, Chuck retired. In fact, his LinkedIn page says Retired, Done Working, June 2021 to Present. Chuck, you deserve a great and peaceful retirement. Thank you for being a friend of GACTE.


Awards Chair 

Awards Co-Chair

Awards Co-Chair

Awards Co-Chair

Dustin Davis

Susan Hall

Cheryl Deas

Laura Rackley

Administration/GCCTA - Division VP

Helen Malone

Administration/GCCTA - Awards Chair

Angie Lewis

Agriculture/GVATA - Division VP

Lonnie Giddens

Agriculture/GVATA - Awards Chair

Veronica Sanders

Business/GBEA - Division VP

Sonia Coile

Business/GBEA - Awards Chair

Elnora Hill

College & Career Academy - Division VP

Laura Rackley

College & Career Academy - Awards Chair

Sabrina Phelps

CCD/Guidance - Division VP

Monica Crenshaw

CCD/Guidance - Awards Chair

Kevin Young

Engineering/GAeTE - Division VP

Susan Hall

Engineering/GAeTE - Awards Chair

 Blair Thrasher

Family CS/GATFACS - Division VP

Brittany Tolleson

Family CS/GATFACS - Awards Chair

Tracy Richardson

Health/HSTEA - Division VP

Dee Goodwin

Health/HSTEA - Awards Chair

Amanda Baker

Marketing/GMEA - Division VP

Walter Burgess

Marketing/GMEA - Awards Chair

Susan Mitchell

JROTC/Armed Forces - Division VP

Lt Col Paul Harwart

JROTC/Armed Forces - Awards Chair

Lt. Stephen Bergey

Special Pops/GACESNP - Division VP

Alonzo Raines

Special Pops/GACESNP - Awards Chair

Vanessa Stanley

ACCT/TIEGA - Division VP

Patrick Mahaffey

ACCT/TIEGA- Awards Chair

WBL/YAP - Division VP

Cheryl Deas

WBL/YAP - Awards Chair

Dr. Yvette Dupree

bottom of page