top of page


Georgia Association for Career and Technical Education (GACTE) is a state affiliate of the national Association for Career and Technical Education (ACTE) organization. GACTE encourages and organizes teachers to become a part of a collective voice that can influence issues and policies that impact career, technical, and agricultural education (CTAE). As a member, teachers can network with each other and gain important and helpful tips and techniques as well as participate in professional development at local, state and national levels.



The vision of GACTE is to advocate for career, technical, and agricultural education which is an integral part of the total education system of Georgia.  We empower members to deliver high quality CTAE experiences through strategic planning, public awareness, and career performance to cultivate a competitive workforce.



The mission of GACTE is to equip our members with leadership opportunities to advance the following pillars:

  • Program Excellence and Professional Learning

  • Policy Activism

  • Public Relations

  • Purposeful Unification

Screen Shot 2023-07-31 at 2.24.03 PM.png


GACTE is governed by a 24 person board of directors comprised from elected representatives of each program area for CTAE. The Executive Committee leads the board and is made up of the President, President-Elect, Past-President, Secretary, and Treasurer.


Our annual Summer Leadership Conference is our biggest event. The conference is open to all members and will be held at Gas South Convention Center, in Duluth, Georgia on June 9-14, 2024. 



At our annual conference, we recognize teachers for outstanding individual performance as well as outstanding program performance. The process of being an awards recipient begins with open nominations. Then once nominees are received and their criteria is verified, their names are then forwarded to the awards committee for their division. Each division committee reviews all nominations and selects one for each category. These selections are then forwarded to the state awards committee who makes the final decisions on award recipients.


The annual awards categories are as follows:

  • Postsecondary Teacher of the Year

  • Administrator of the Year

  • New Teacher of the Year

  • Teacher of the Year

  • Counseling & Career Development Professional Award

  • Carl D. Perkins Outstanding Service Award

  • Teacher Educator of the Year

bottom of page